I’m sick!

Standard

I love my little firsties but they can keep their germs!  I haven’t been this sick in a long time.  It started on Wednesday, the day of Tony’s grandmother’s funeral.  We had been running all week back and forth to Winston.  I woke up Wednesday thinking that I didn’t feel very well.  By about 10am I KNEW I didn’t feel well.  We got to Tony’s grandma’s house and there was sooooooooooo much food.  One thing about being here in N. Carolina is the hospitality and caring of people when someone you love passes away.  Their church, oh my goodness, I can’t say enough good about.  They had three ladies that came in with tons of food, and I mean tons!  They stayed and served food and drinks.  They asked countless times if we needed anything else.  I looked at all that food and didn’t eat a thing.  I couldn’t.  My throat was on fire.  And this wasn’t chicken from the chicken place or pizza from the pizza joint down the road.  This was good ole Southern home cooking.  And I couldn’t eat a thing.  Bah!  Actually, might have been a good thing.  Cause Southern people aren’t known for skimping on the butter or lard….. and that is what makes it taste so good!  So after the funeral we all come back to Grandmother’s house.  By the way, that house will ALWAYS be Grandmother and Grand’s house even though they are in heaven now.  So everyone is milling around the house.  I swear there had to be at least fifty people probably more in the house.  It isn’t a huge house either.  What do I do?  I plop myself on the couch and fall asleep.  Those of you that know me know that I will do whatever it takes to not stick out like a sore thumb anywhere.  I am a self proclaimed wallflower and proud of it!  Well, not on Wednesday.  I felt so terrible.  I tried not to nod off but it didn’t work.  I just hope I didn’t snore.  And if I did, I hope no one tells me about it.  So Thursday morning I do what every good teacher does when her head feels like it is going to explode and her throat is on fire…..I go to school.  I didn’t have a sub.  Didn’t think I would need one.  I knew after about five minutes of being there that it wasn’t going to work.  And the kids weren’t even in the room yet.  So, I go ask my principal who is the most wonderful principal in the world if I can  use some thank you bucks I have to go to the dr. after I drop the kids off at PE.  And that is what I did.  Actually I went to urgent care.  The doctor there tells me I have strep and a double ear infection.  Lovely.  How do you tell strep and a double ear infection you don’t have time to deal with them?  Well, I found out pretty quickly you don’t.  I asked the doctor kind of sheepishly if I could go back to work.  I think she thought I was nuts and replied with an emphatic..”uh, NO!  I don’t want you to go back until Monday.”  So I’m thinking, what?  And my first reaction is ABCDEFG…I can’t hear you!  Well, the doctor is a doctor for a reason and along comes Friday and I can’t move out of bed.  Like literally…I can’t move.  I have a head that is ready to explode and a throat that is on fire.  Are you seeing a pattern here?  And then comes the fever late Friday afternoon…………okay, that was the point I wanted to just lob off my head!  I was done.

So now it is Saturday.  I’ve been awake since about 3:30 am.  I feel better.  My throat still hurts though and I feel like I haven’t slept in days….I’m going to stay in my jammies today and tomorrow and hope that by Monday I’ll be Mrs. Wilson again and ready to jump into my classroom. 

A friend of mine that blogs said that she likes blogging because no one can interrupt her while she is “talking”.  Tee hee!  Look at this long whine I managed to crank out with no one interrupting me!  I love it!

About luvinmylife

I'm a very proud wife of 17 1/2 years to Tony and a very proud mommy of a little over ten years to Maddyson Violet. I am a second grade teacher and I love it! I think I have the best life and I am so thankful to God for what He's given me!

Leave a comment